For a long time in Mouans-Sartoux, organic eating is a priority. First because of environmental protection, but not only. Also for the good health of guests, farmers, food governance, short supply chains, harmonious local economic development and the maintenance of the living landscape… Actually, the contents of the plates are a formidable revealer of civilization. If organic has become a deep social trend, Mouans-Sartoux did not wait for the fad to get in.

Since the 1st of January 2012, all children in schools, in kindergartens and the communal staff eat 100% organic. This approach is controlled and guaranteed each year by Ecocert, the creator of the first organic, local and sustainable collective catering label "En cuisine", a private specification that takes care of the purchase invoices and lists the ecological actions in the kitchen (types of cleaning products, home-made cooking, local bio products...). Mouans canteens have been labeled at the highest level since the beginning.

The introduction of bio began in 1999, in the time of the mad cow desease. The city decided to react by opting for organic beef. Many steps were taken afterwards, always keeping the same progression. Firstly by the choice to manage the canteens in a public way. Then came the creation of a kitchen by school group, the progressive introduction of organic products in the calls for tenders (23% in 2009, 73% in 2011). Mouans-Sartoux joined the network of Actives Cities in the National Health and Nutrition Program (PNNS). Last but not least, the city bought the municipal farm of Haute-Combe

TIMELINE

  • 1999 4% organic: beef (mad cow crisis). Choice of a municipal catering
  • 2005 Mouans-Sartoux becomes PNNS Active City
  • 2006 "Eat and move well, it is good for you" Program. Revised menus to integrate seasonality
  • 2008 Project to create agricultural management. Beginning of the operation "a fruit for break time"
  • 2009 23% of bio: objectives of the French Environment Grenelle are overcame
  • 2010 First culture in municipal farm. First weighings of leftover food
  • 2011 73.6% organic, 75% reduction in food waste. Hiring the farmer under public contract as official. Setting up differentiated portions at the self-service
  • 2012 100% organic (first city in France with more than 10,000 inhabitants at this level). New local development plan with triply agricultural surfaces. Creation of the Observatory of Sustainable Restoration
  • 2013 The city becomes a founding member of the Organic Food Territories Un Plus Bio. It wins the first prize of the "Trophy of eco-mayors" for sustainable bio restoration
  • 2014 Municipal deliberation creating an aid for the installation of organic farmers. Labeling "In Cuisine" level 3 of the restoration by Ecocert
  • 2015 Mouans-Sartoux signing the manifesto for organic, local, healthy and fair collective catering "When canteens rebel"
  • 2016 First vegetable freezing experience. Creation of the MEAD (Center For Sustainable Food Education)
  • 2017 Creation of the university diploma "sustainable food project manager"
  • 2018: launch on 25 January of the European Club "Organic Food Territories" in Mouans-Sartoux, with Un Plus Bio.

Depuis longtemps à Mouans-Sartoux, manger bio est une priorité. Pour des raisons liées à la protection de l’environnement, cela va sans dire, mais pas seulement. Pour la bonne santé des convives, celle des agriculteurs, la gouvernance alimentaire, les circuits courts, le développement économique local harmonieux et l’entretien du paysage vivant… Si on y regarde de près, le contenu des assiettes est un formidable révélateur de civilisation. Et si le bio est devenu une tendance sociale de fond, Mouans-Sartoux n’a pas attendu l’effet de mode pour se lancer dans l’aventure.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2012, tous les enfants des écoles et des crèches ainsi que le personnel communal mangent 100 % bio. Cette démarche est contrôlée et garantie chaque année par la société Ecocert, créatrice du premier label de la restauration collective bio, locale et durable « En cuisine », un cahier des charges privé qui épluche les factures d’achat et liste les actions écologiques en cuisine (types de produits d’entretien, niveau du fait-maison, part du bio local…). Les cantines mouansoises sont labellisées niveau 3 depuis le début, un niveau rarement atteint en France alors qu’il n’exige « que » 50% de bio dans les menus.

L’introduction du bio fut progressive, ses débuts remontent à l’époque de la vache folle, en 1999. La ville décida de réagir en optant pour du bœuf bio, avec la garantie que celui-ci ne ruminerait certainement plus de farines animales ! De nombreuses étapes ont été franchies ensuite, en gardant toujours le même cap. D’abord par le choix de gérer les cantines en régie, puis la création d’une cuisine par groupe scolaire, l’introduction progressive de produits bio dans les appels d’offres (23% en 2009, 73% en 2011), l’adhésion au réseau des villes actives au Programme national nutrition santé (PNNS), enfin l’action déterminante d’acheter le domaine agricole de Haute-Combe

CHRONOLOGIE

  • 1999 4 % de bio : le boeuf (crise de la vache folle). Choix d’une restauration en régie municipale, une cuisine par école
  • 2005 Mouans-Sartoux devient ville PNNS
  • 2006 Programme “Bien manger, bien bouger c’est bon pour la santé”. Révision des menus pour intégrer la saisonnalité
  • 2008 Étude de faisabilité pour créer une régie agricole. Début de l’opération “un fruit à la récré”
  • 2009 23 % de bio : objectifs du Grenelle de l’environnement dépassés
  • 2010 Culture expérimentale à la régie agricole. Premières pesées des restes alimentaires
  • 2011 73,6 % de bio, réduction de 75 % du gaspillage alimentaire. Embauche de l’agriculteur sous contrat municipal. Mise en place des portions différenciées au self-service
  • 2012 100 % de bio (première ville de France de plus de 10 000 habitants à ce niveau). Nouveau PLU avec triplement des surfaces agricoles. Création de l’Observatoire de la restauration durable
  • 2013 La ville devient membre fondateur du Club des Territoires Un Plus Bio. Elle reçoit le premier prix du “Trophée des écomaires” pour la restauration bio durable
  • 2014 Délibération créant une aide à l’installation des agriculteurs bio. Labellisation «En Cuisine» niveau 3 de la restauration par Ecocert
  • 2015 Mouans-Sartoux signataire du manifeste pour une restauration collective bio, locale, saine et juste « Quand les cantines se rebellent »
  • 2016 Expérience de conservation des légumes de la régie. Création de la MEAD (Maison d’éducation à l’alimentation durable)
  • 2017 Lancement du DU « chef de projet alimentation durable »
  • 2018 : lancement le 25 janvier du Club européen « Territoires alimentation bio » / « Organic Food Territories » à Mouans-Sartoux, avec Un Plus Bio.