Food marketplaces deals

Organic food in Mouans-Sartoux is made possible by the municipal farm. But this autonomy only concerns organic and local vegetables that are the pride of kitchen teams and guests. For the rest, it is necessary to stock up on the markets.
The municipality divided into thirteen tenders its food market. The first twelve are fully organic, the 13th concerns wild species of non-organic fish. The amount of this contract is approximately 240 000 € each year for a little over 150,000 meals per year. A cost that has been dropping in recent years, thanks to the contributions of the municipal farm of Haute-Combe.
By building the market, the city is also careful to contain its budgets. Purchasing large volumes in bulk rather than portions, looking at the price of food at the time of order (the mercurial), definition of short-term food menus to take advantage of price changes, great attention to seasonality.

The selection criteria do not only focus on the food prices: first 40% go to quality (traceability, maturation and diversity), 30% to price and 30% to environmental value (production, packaging, transport, educational). To give chance local operators to access the market without infringing the right to free European competition, various tips have been devised, such as the possibility of visiting the farm or the processing workshop within a pedagogical framework. Eating 100% organic requires more vigilance and requires good choices at the right time.

Here are some examples of the specifications of the calls for tender of beef, eggs and dairy products and frozen food.

Le marché alimentaire

Manger bio à Mouans-Sartoux ne passe pas que par la régie agricole. Même si les légumes bio et locaux font la fierté des équipes en cuisine et des convives, l’autonomie alimentaire n’est pas encore une réalité.
La commune a divisé en treize lots son marché alimentaire. Les douze premiers sont intégralement bio, le 13e concerne les espèces sauvages de poissons non biologiques.Le montant de ce marché s’établit environ chaque année à 240 000 € pour un peu plus de 150000 repas dans l’année. Un coût en baisse depuis quelques années, grâce aux apports de la régie.
En se tournant vers le marché, la ville prend également soin de contenir ses budgets. Achats de grands volumes en vrac plutôt qu’en portions, regard porté sur le cours des denrées au moment de la commande (la mercuriale), définition de plans alimentaires à court terme pour profiter des variations de prix, grande attention portée à la saisonnalité.

Les critères de sélection ne privilégient pas seulement le prix des denrées : 40% vont à la qualité (traçabilité, maturation et diversité), 30% au prix et 30% à la valeur environnementale (mode production, emballage, transport, pédagogique). Pour favoriser l’accès des opérateurs locaux au marché sans enfreindre le droit à la libre concurrence européenne, diverses astuces ont été imaginées, comme le fait de prévoir la possibilité de visiter l’exploitation ou l’atelier de transformation dans un cadre pédagogique. Manger 100% bio nécessite ainsi une vigilance accrue et requiert des choix de bon sens au bon moment.

Ici, quelques exemples de cahiers des charges des appels d’offres de viande de bœuf, d’œufs et produits laitiers et de denrées surgelées.