COP26 is already happening!

Join the movement of European cities engaged for food democracy and sovereignty

Tuesday 23 March 2021, 9-11.30 AM, CET • Online event

European cities have taken the lead in building resilient local food systems. Their engagement is not only about forward-looking commitments but is already a day-to-day reality that is beneficial to the climate, the environment and people’s health.

Cities are already turning concepts such as food democracy and food sovereignty into practice, and this experience should inspire national governments ahead of international climate negotiations at COP26 in November 2021.

Let's embark on a journey into the future of local sustainable food that is already happening!

Agenda
9.00 - 9.15 Introduction
Introductory words by MEP Marc Tarabella
9.15 - 9.45 Translating food democracy and sovereignty into practice: the BioCanteens scenario
François Jégou, Lead Expert of BioCanteens Transfer Network
9.45 - 10.30

Making the case for cities’ positive solutions to local food challenges

Challenge #1 Addressing the Public Procurement constraint for food supply: the example of Mouans-Sartoux
Gilles Pérole, Deputy-Mayor for Childhood, Education and Food, Mouans-Sartoux

Challenge #2 Ensuring social accessibility to quality food: the case of Valencia (pending confirmation)

Challenge #3 Driving the relocalisation of agriculture: learnings from Södertälje
Sara Jervfors, Head of Diet Unit, Södertälje

10.30 - 10.40 Break
10.40 - 11.00 National networks of cities as key drivers of food democracy
Amandine Pieux, Coordinator of the Club of Territories, Un Plus Bio
Cecilia Delgado, Researcher, Director of "Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis"
11.00 - 11.25 Making cities' voices count at COP 26
Chantal Clement, Deputy Director, IPES-Food
Sofie Quist, Food Policy Project Officer, Nourish Scotland
URBACT Secretariat (pending confirmation)
11.25 - 11.30 Concluding words
Florence Egal, Local food systems expert

European cities are today at the forefront of the transition towards sustainable local food systems. In a context of increasing vulnerability to health-related risks and climate change, competition-based global agricultural markets and of numerous regulatory hurdles, cities already implement innovative as well as effective public policy solutions.

Ensuring a fairer access to quality food for all, building resilient agroecological food systems and developing a more participatory food governance are not mere objectives but realities taking shape on the ground. Taking stock of their achievements and rich experience, cities’ engagement and commitments in the field of sustainable food need to be further promoted and supported at national and european levels.

The organisation of COP26 in November 2021 in Glasgow is a decisive opportunity for national governments and the European Union to take up these positive local examples to put the issue of sustainable food at the heart of the climate debate, and to actively support the development of progressive and integrated food policies at city or regional levels.

BioCanteens

BioCanteens network, funded by the URBACT Programme, is composed of 7 European cities highly engaged in the distribution of organic school meals as a key lever towards the development of integrated and ecosystemic local agri-food projects, protecting both citizens’ health and the environment. Their efforts on sustainable school catering enable these committed cities to act in practice on changing people’s eating habits, supporting local organic farmers, sustainable public procurement, building a more participatory food governance and their local food sovereignty.

BioCanteens cities will share their practical experience, methodology and tools which can be re-used by other local authorities as a support to design and implement their own food policies.

BioCanteens partners:
Mouans-Sartoux (France), GAL Pays de Condruses (Belgium), Rosignano-Marittimo (Italy), Torres Vedras (Portugal), Trikala (Greece), Troyan (Bulgaria), Vaslui (Romania)

More info on BioCanteens transfer network: urbact.eu/biocanteens

Södertälje Municipality (Sweden)

According to Sara Jervfors, Head of the Diet Unit in Södertälje Municipality “School meal is a great educational tool that strengthens the local business and agricultural industry. It bolsters self-sufficiency.”

Since the beginning of the 2000s, Södertälje has worked with a number of different development projects and activities to create conditions for increased sustainable food production in the municipality and its surroundings, among other things by using public meals as a tool. Partly by buying locally and sustainably produced food but also by getting children and young people to adopt good eating habits.

Un Plus Bio (France)

Un Plus Bio is a French organisation founded in 2002 accompanying local authorities towards positive change to food systems. Since 2013, Un Plus Bio coordinates a network of more than a thousand territories (le Club des Territoires) engaged towards more organic, local, healthy and sustainable food, using public catering as a tool for food democracy and sovereignty. Its network is a space where territories can get knowledge and resources, as well as share their experiences in order to help one another improving food quality and practices.

Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis (Portugal)

The Portuguese national Platform Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis (Feeding Sustainable Cities) is a civil society movement launched in June 2018 gathering today roughly 400 members coming from Portuguese central and local governments, academia, civil society and the private sector. Its members are seeking to share information to build a common understanding of food issues, best practices, governance, and policies. In March 2020, they published a guide “Innovative Practices in Portugal: from production to sustainable consumption” compiling 46 food best practices implemented in the country at local, regional and national levels.

Glasgow Food and Climate Declaration

Launched in December 2020, the Glasgow Food and Climate Declaration is a commitment by cities, regions and subnational governments to tackle the climate emergency through integrated food policies and a call on national governments to act! This declaration brings together all types and sizes of local authorities – from small and medium sized towns to mega-cities, districts and regions, territories, federal states and provinces – to speak with a unified voice in renewing their commitments to develop sustainable food policies, promote mechanisms for joined-up action and call on national governments to put food and farming at the heart of the global response to the climate emergency.

More info on the Glasgow Declaration on Climate and Food: www.glasgowdeclaration.org
Cet événement se déroulera en anglais, mais une traduction simultanée en français sera mise à la disposition de tous les participants.
Should you have any questions on this event, do not hesitate to contact Thibaud Lalanne, BioCanteens project coordinator: thibaud.lalanne@mouans-sartoux.net

Event organised by:

Partners:

La COP26, c'est déjà maintenant !

Rejoignez le mouvement des villes européennes engagées pour la démocratie et la souveraineté alimentaire

Mardi 23 mars 2021, 9-11h30, CET • Événement en ligne

Les villes européennes sont aujourd’hui de véritables pionnières dans la construction de systèmes alimentaires territoriaux résilients. Leur engagement n’est pas fait de simples promesses mais constitue déjà une réalité quotidienne grâce à des actions bien concrètes qui sont bénéfiques pour le climat, l’environnement et la santé des populations.

Les villes mettent en pratique des concepts tels que la démocratie et la souveraineté alimentaire, et cette expérience devrait inspirer les gouvernements nationaux en vue des négociations internationales sur le climat lors de la COP26 en novembre 2021.

Embarquons ensemble pour un voyage vers l’avenir de l’alimentation locale et durable qui a déjà commencé !

Agenda
9.00 - 9.15 Introduction
Discours d'introduction du député européen Marc Tarabella
9.15 - 9.45 Traduire la démocratie et la souveraineté alimentaire en pratique : le scénario BioCanteens
François Jégou, Lead Expert du réseau de transfert BioCanteens
9.45 - 10.30

Les solutions positives des villes face aux défis alimentaires locaux

Défi #1 Répondre à la contrainte des marchés publics: l'exemple de Mouans-Sartoux
Gilles Pérole, adjoint au maire à l'enfance, à l'éducation et à l'alimentation, Mouans-Sartoux

Défi #2 Garantir l'accessibilité sociale à une alimentation de qualité : le cas de Valence, Espagne (en attente de confirmation)

Défi #3 Relocaliser l'agriculture : les enseignements de Södertälje
Sara Jervfors, cheffe de l'unité diététique, Södertälje

10.30 - 10.40 Pause
10.40 - 11.00 Des réseaux nationaux de villes moteurs de la démocratie alimentaire
Amandine Pieux, animatrice du Club des Territoires, Un Plus Bio
Cecilia Delgado, chercheuse, directrice de "Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis"
11.00 - 11.25 Faire entendre la voix des villes lors de la COP 26
Chantal Clement, directrice adjointe, IPES-Food
Sofie Quist, responsable du projet de politique alimentaire, Nourish Scotland
Secrétariat URBACT (en attente de confirmation)
11.25 - 11.30 Conclusion
Florence Egal, Experte en systèmes alimentaires territorialisés

Les villes européennes sont aujourd’hui à l’avant-garde de la transition vers des systèmes alimentaires locaux durables. Dans un contexte de vulnérabilité croissante aux risques sanitaires et au changement climatique, de marchés agricoles mondiaux fondés sur la concurrence ainsi que de nombreux obstacles réglementaires, les villes mettent déjà en œuvre des politiques publiques innovantes et efficaces.

Garantir l’accès de tous à une alimentation de qualité, mettre en place des systèmes alimentaires agroécologiques résilients et développer une gouvernance alimentaire plus participative ne sont pas de simples objectifs mais des réalités qui se dessinent sur le terrain. Au vu de leurs réalisations et de leur riche expérience, l’engagement des villes dans le domaine de l’alimentation durable doit être davantage encouragé et soutenu aux niveaux national et européen.

L’organisation de la COP26 en novembre 2021 à Glasgow est une occasion décisive pour les gouvernements nationaux et l’Union européenne de reprendre à leur compte ces exemples locaux afin de placer la question de l’alimentation durable au cœur du débat sur le climat, et de soutenir activement le développement de politiques alimentaires progressistes et intégrées à l’échelon local.

BioCanteens

Le réseau BioCanteens, financé par le programme URBACT, est composé de 7 villes européennes fortement engagées pour une restauration scolaire bio comme levier de développement de projets alimentaires locaux protégeant à la fois la santé des citoyens et l’environnement. Leurs efforts en matière de restauration scolaire durable permettent à ces villes d’agir concrètement sur le changement des habitudes alimentaires des habitants, le soutien aux agriculteurs bio de leur territoire, une commande publique plus soutenable, la mise en place d’une gouvernance alimentaire plus participative et leur souveraineté alimentaire locale.

La méthodologie et les outils développés par le réseau BioCanteens ont vocation à être partagés à d’autres collectivités afin de les aider à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre leurs propres projets alimentaires.

Partenaires BioCanteens :
Mouans-Sartoux (France), GAL Pays de Condruses (Belgique), Rosignano-Marittimo (Italie), Torres Vedras (Portugal), Trikala (Grèce), Troyan (Bulgarie), Vaslui (Roumanie).

Plus d’informations sur le réseau de transfert BioCanteens : urbact.eu/biocanteens

Municipalité de Södertälje (Suède)

Selon Sara Jervfors, chef de l’unité diététique de la municipalité de Södertälje, « le repas sur le temps scolaire est un excellent outil éducatif qui peut servir à renforcer la production agricole locale. Il renforce l’autosuffisance alimentaire du territoire».

Depuis le début des années 2000, Södertälje a travaillé, au travers de différents projets et activités, à la création des conditions d’une production alimentaire durable dans la ville et ses environs, en utilisant entre autres la restauration collective comme levier, en partie en achetant des aliments produits localement et de manière durable, mais aussi en incitant les enfants et les jeunes à adopter de bonnes habitudes alimentaires.

Un Plus Bio (France)

Un Plus Bio est une association française fondée en 2002 qui accompagne les collectivités vers un changement positif des systèmes alimentaires territoriaux. Depuis 2013, Un Plus Bio coordonne un réseau de plus de mille collectivités (le Club des Territoires) engagées pour une alimentation plus biologique, locale, saine et durable, en utilisant la restauration collective comme outil de démocratie et de souveraineté alimentaire. Son réseau est un espace où les territoires peuvent obtenir des connaissances et des ressources, ainsi que partager leurs expériences afin de s’aider mutuellement à améliorer la qualité et les pratiques alimentaires.

Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis (Portugal)

La plateforme nationale portugaise Alimentar Cidades Sustentaveis (Nourrir les villes durables) est un mouvement de la société civile lancé en juin 2018 qui rassemble aujourd’hui environ 400 membres issus des collectivités portugaises, du monde universitaire, de la société civile et du secteur privé. Ses membres cherchent à partager des informations afin d’établir une compréhension commune des questions alimentaires, notamment en termes de gouvernance et des politiques publiques. En mars 2020, ils ont publié le guide “Pratiques innovantes au Portugal : de la production à la consommation durable” compilant 46 bonnes pratiques alimentaires mises en œuvre dans le pays à différentes échelles de gouvernance.

Déclaration de Glasgow sur l’alimentation et le climat

Lancée en décembre 2020, les villes, régions et gouvernement infranationaux signataires de la Déclaration de Glasgow sur l’alimentation et le climat s’engagent à faire face à l’urgence climatique par des politiques alimentaires intégrées et un appel aux gouvernements nationaux à agir ! Cette déclaration rassemble des autorités locales de tous types et de toutes tailles – des petites et moyennes villes aux mégapoles, départements et régions, états fédéraux et provinces – pour renouveler d’une même voix leurs engagements à développer des politiques alimentaires durables, promouvoir des mécanismes d’actions conjointes et appeler les gouvernements nationaux à placer l’alimentation et l’agriculture au cœur de la réponse mondiale à l’urgence climatique.

Plus d’informations sur la déclaration de Glasgow sur le climat et l’alimentation : www.glasgowdeclaration.org
Cet événement se déroulera en anglais, mais une traduction simultanée en français sera mise à la disposition de tous les participants.
Si vous avez des questions sur cet événement, n’hésitez pas à contacter Thibaud Lalanne, coordinateur du projet BioCanteens : thibaud.lalanne@mouans-sartoux.net

Événement organisé par :

Partenaires :